Student residence permit
For people admitted to a German higher education institution. Public universities charge little or no tuition, and graduates get an 18-month permit to find work.
Who it is for. Students with a place at a recognised institution and proof of maintenance.
Worth knowing. The blocked-account amount is revised annually.
- Income required
- Not stated
- Savings required
- €13,092
- Investment required
- None
- Application fee
- Not stated
- Processing time
- 45–150 days
- Permission lasts
- 24 months
- Permanent residence
- After 5 years
- Citizenship
- After 5 years
Renewable
Sources
Worth knowing. The blocked-account amount is revised annually.
Check this against
- Make it in Germany — the official portal for skilled workers (opens in a new tab)Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Labour · Government department
- Federal Office for Migration and Refugees — residence titles and integration requirements (opens in a new tab)BAMF — Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge · National immigration authority