Skip to content

Digital nomad status

Designated Activities (remote work)

Remote work

A six-month status for remote workers earning at least ¥10 million a year. It is not a residence permit: holders do not get a residence card or become residents, cannot renew, and must spend six months outside Japan before applying again.

Who it is for. Remote workers from a country with both a tax treaty and a visa exemption with Japan.

Researched, not independently verifiedmedium confidenceReviewed 20 September 2026

Worth knowing. The ¥10 million threshold is on active income evidenced by tax returns, contracts or bank statements. Roughly 50 countries and regions qualify. The monthly figure used by the rules engine is the annual threshold divided by twelve.

Fact
Income required
JP¥10,000,000

a year

Savings required
Not stated
Investment required
None
Application fee
Not stated
Processing time
14–60 days
Permission lasts
6 months

Not renewable

Permanent residence
Not via this route
Citizenship
Not via this route
Remote work allowedLocal employment not allowedFamily can joinInsurance required
Apply through the authority, not through us: www.isa.go.jp (opens in a new tab)

Application checklist

Tick things off as you go. Progress is saved in this browser and nowhere else.

0 of 9 done

Documents

Process

Restrictions

Progress is kept in this browser. It will not follow you to another device, and clearing your site data clears it.

How the process runs

Lead times are the ones the authorities publish or that applicants consistently report. Added up, they come to roughly 2 months — start with whatever takes longest.

  1. Check your nationality qualifies

    ≈ 1 days

    You need a country with both a tax treaty and a visa exemption with Japan. Many visa-exempt nationalities do not qualify.

  2. Document ¥10 million of annual income

    ≈ 21 days

    Tax returns and contracts are the strongest evidence. Savings will not substitute.

  3. Arrange qualifying private insurance

    ≈ 14 days

    At least ¥10 million of medical cover, including death and injury.

  4. Apply at the embassy or consulate

    ≈ 21 days

    The status is granted on entry and runs for six months from arrival.

Official forms

Always download the current version from the authority. Consulates publish their own variants, and an out-of-date form is a common reason for rejection.

Visa application form

paper

The consular application for the Designated Activities status.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan · Japanese and English

Get the current form (opens in a new tab)

Fees

Fees for this route
FeeAmount
Single-entry visaPayable to Japanese embassy or consulateCharged in local currency at a rate the mission sets periodically.JP¥3,000

Why we say this

The wording behind the headline figures on this page.

Digital nomad status holders are not registered residents and do not receive a residence card.

The Designated Activities status for remote work is granted for a period of up to six months. Because the period does not exceed the threshold for resident registration, holders are not issued a residence card and do not enrol in the national health insurance system.

Immigration Services Agency of Japan (opens in a new tab)

Sources

Researched, not independently verifiedmedium confidenceReviewed 20 September 2026

Worth knowing. The ¥10 million threshold is on active income evidenced by tax returns, contracts or bank statements. Roughly 50 countries and regions qualify. The monthly figure used by the rules engine is the annual threshold divided by twelve.

Reference dataset, compiled 20 September 2026. This is a compiled reference dataset. Every figure is drawn from official material and cited, but no record has been signed off by a named editor working through the review console, so nothing here is marked verified. Immigration rules change without notice and consulates apply them differently. Check the linked authority before you act on anything. This site is not legal advice.